Sein oder nicht sein

Sein oder nicht sein

Sein oder nicht sein 1400 630 Untire

Dies ist die Geschichte von Bram Kuiper.

1985 starb mein Vater. Er war 63 und hatte nur ein Jahr zuvor die Diagnose Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs bekommen. Als Arzt wusste ich sofort, dass er nicht überleben würde. Meine Mutter, zwei Schwestern, zwei Brüder und ich haben ihm alle Aufmerksamkeit, Liebe und Unterstützung gegeben, die er brauchte. Mein Vater schrieb ein Tagebuch. In einem seiner Einträge schrieb er, dass sich Kranksein wie ein Aufenthalt in einem fremden Land anfühlte. Er konnte das beurteilen – er hatte jahrelang als Tropenarzt gearbeitet. Ich war 29 und arbeitete als klinischer Psychologe. Dies war meine erste ernstliche Erfahrung mit Krebs. Auch ich habe mich gefühlt wie ein Heimatloser. In jenem Jahr kam jedoch immer mehr ein Gefühl der Vertrautheit auf – egal wie düster die Zukunft auch erscheinen mochte.

Zwei Jahre später, 1987, habe ich im MCA der Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam als Psychologe angefangen. Selbstverständlich gehörte neben allen anderen Aufgaben auch die Onkologieabteilung in meinen Verantwortungsbereich. Ich kümmerte mich in der Klinik und in der Poliklinik um junge und alte Patienten mit verschiedenen Krebsarten, mit guten und schlechten Prognosen sowie um ihre Familien und Freunde. Es fühlte sich insgesamt sehr vertraut an. Im Jahr 2000 bin ich CEO am Helen Dowling Institut geworden – einem phantastischen, renommierten Psychoonkologiezentrum in den Niederlanden. Bis 2012 habe ich meine Arbeit als CEO mit meiner Arbeit als Psychologe kombiniert.

In den vergangenen 30 Jahren konnte ich mich von den riesigen Auswirkungen von Krebs auf das körperliche, emotionale und soziale Leben von Patienten und ihren Angehörigen aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln überzeugen: als Kind, Bruder, Partner, Freund, Kollege und Psychologe. Was habe ich gelernt?

Ich bin mir jetzt darüber im Klaren, dass sich der Kern der Onkologie um die Frage „sein“ oder „nicht sein“ dreht. Das gilt buchstäblich und im übertragenen Sinne für alle Menschen, die mit Krebs konfrontiert werden.

Zunächst für Menschen, bei denen Krebs diagnostiziert wird. Früher oder später stellen sie sich die entscheidende Frage: „Wie lange muss ich noch leben? Wie lange bin ich hier? Buchstäblich, „sein“, bedeutet Leben. Denn „nicht sein“ bedeutet das Ende und den Tod. Es dreht sich alles um die Menge an Leben. Auch wenn die Prognose „einigermaßen“ oder „gut“ ist. Wenn noch Zeit zum Leben ist, egal wie kurz, stellt sich früher oder später die zweite Frage, nämlich die der Lebensqualität. Wie möchte ich leben? Wie möchte ich „sein“ solange ich noch auf der Erde bin? Was möchte noch tun? Was interessiert mich nicht mehr? Das sind die Fragen, um die sich alles dreht. Wenn Menschen mit Krebs konfrontiert werden, überdenken sie ihre eigenen Sehnsüchte und Einschränkungen. Im übertragenen Sinne bedeutet „nicht sein“ fehlende Lebensqualität. Menschen mit Krebs möchten „sein“- buchstäblich und im übertragenen Sinne.

Das Gleiche gilt für alle, die in der Onkologie arbeiten. Sein oder nicht sein. Buchstäblich bedeutet es, dass Du körperlich in ausreichender Form zugegen sein und die bestmögliche Pflege bieten musst. Das ist das Mindeste. Gleichzeitig musst Du auch im übertragenen Sinnen zugegen sein: Pflegepersonen müssen für Patienten, die auf ihre Pflege und Fürsorge vertrauen, aufmerksam und verfügbar sein. Krebspatienten durchleben eine Existenzkrise und fühlen meiner Auffassung nach genau und sofort, wann jemand wirklich für sie „da“ ist und wann „nicht“.

Nur wenn Pflegepersonen wirklich „da“ sind, können sie ihren Patienten aufrichtig helfen, in diesem fremden, unbekannten Land der Krankheit „zu sein“. Buchstäblich und im übertragenen Sinne.

Avatar

Untire

We are inspired by years of treating cancer patients with the psychological and emotional effects of the disease. Untire was created by a group of specialized psychologists and researchers in the field of psycho-oncology. With our years of experience and knowledge we aim to add value to the lives of many cancer patients and survivors worldwide. We are a social enterprise and strive for maximum benefit of the patient.

All articles by : Untire

To be or not to be

To be or not to be

To be or not to be 1400 630 Untire

The story of Bram Kuiper.

In 1985, just one year after being diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, my father passed away, aged 63. As a doctor he knew right from the diagnosis that he wouldn’t survive. My mother, two sisters, two brothers and I surrounded him with all the attention, love and support he needed. My father always kept a diary and in one of his entries he wrote that his illness felt like a stay in a foreign country. He was familiar with that feeling because he spent many years abroad working as a doctor in the tropics. I was 29 years old and working as a clinical psychologist. It was my first serious experience with cancer and for me it also felt like spending time in a foreign world. But during that year, it became more and more familiar, no matter how bleak the future seemed to be.

Two years later, in 1987, I started as a psychologist at the Free University Medical Centre in Amsterdam. That I would include working at the Oncology Department alongside my other tasks was self-explanatory. I provided care for cancer patients, their family and friends, with different types of cancer, young and old, with good and bad prognoses, both inside the clinic as well as in the outpatient clinic. It all felt very familiar. Later, in 2000, I became CEO of the Helen Dowling Institute, a fabulous and renowned psycho-oncology centre in the Netherlands. Until 2012 I combined my job as CEO with my work as a psychologist.

Over the last 30 years I have witnessed the enormous impact cancer has on the physical, emotional and social life of patients and their loved ones from different perspectives: as the child-of, the brother, the partner, the friend, the colleague and the psychologist. What have I learned?
I have come to realise that the essence of oncology revolves around the issue of ‘to be’ or ‘not to be’. This applies both literally and figuratively, for everyone dealing with cancer.

First, it applies to people who have been diagnosed with cancer. Sooner or later they will ask themselves ‘How long do I have to live? How long will I be here?’ Literally, ‘to be’, to live, because ‘not to be’ implies the end, death. It’s all about the quantity of life. Even when the prognosis is ‘reasonable’ to ‘good’. And when you still have time to live, however short that may be, sooner or later a second question presents itself – about the quality of life. ‘How do I want to live? How do I want ‘to be’ as long as I’m still here?’ ‘What do I still want (or do not want) to do’, that’s what it’s all about. Once they are confronted with cancer, people re-evaluate their desires and limitations. Figuratively, ‘not to be’ implies the absence of quality of life. People with cancer want ‘to be’, both literally and figuratively.

Second, it applies to everyone who works in oncology. ‘To be’, or ‘not to be’. Literally it means one should physically be present enough and also offer the best possible care. That’s the least you can do. At the same time you need to be present figuratively, by which I mean that caregivers should be ‘attentively available’ for patients trusted in their care. People with cancer go through an existential crisis and in my opinion they sense immediately when someone isn’t truly involved – whether they ‘are there’ or ‘not there’.

Only when caregivers are truly ‘there’ they can genuinely help their patients ‘to be’ in the strange unknown country. Literally and figuratively.

Untire

We are inspired by years of treating cancer patients with the psychological and emotional effects of the disease. Untire was created by a group of specialized psychologists and researchers in the field of psycho-oncology. With our years of experience and knowledge we aim to add value to the lives of many cancer patients and survivors worldwide. We are a social enterprise and strive for maximum benefit of the patient.

All articles by : Untire